A documentation of fashion discoveries, inspiration, and trends.

How do I dress?

I recently received an email asking me to make a post about how I dress, rather than looking at how other people/things dress all the time. This actually might be a good idea? I’ll just document my key outfits (the ones I love the most) and my favorite accessories.

My Everyday Accessories:

-Cute and/or Statement Earrings:

-Fun or Classic scarves

-SUNGLASSES! I am engaged in a neverending love affair with sunglasses. From wayfarers to aviators, I love them all.

My Outfits

Outfit 1-It’s gonna be a long day. Starting school at 9:30 am and having lab until 9:30 pm with only 3.5 hrs of break in between classes during those twelve hours means: dress for it! Probably not the best time to try out a piece of clothing that you aren’t totally comfortable with. My favorite thing to do? A pair of black skeggings, a slouchy sweater, a casual tee, my favorite pair of furry boots (NOTE: I stay away from Uggs.), and a pair of cute earrings that complements my look yet that doesn’t get in my way while conducting acid-base titrations.

Outfit 2-Through the Wind and Rain. If there’s one thing you learn as a college student in Seattle, it’s how to dress through the wind and rain. Freezing cheeks and slimy hair are definitely not chic. When I see the weather forecast predicting a day of rain with moderate winds, I bundle up with a cozy puffer jacket, a simple tee, a mini bandage skirt, a quirky pair of leggings, and rain boots. This outfit is all about mixing it up. From dull stripes and vivid spots, to a puffy jacket with a bandage skirt. This ensemble may look ridiculous upon first glance, but it is actually really comfortable and fitting. Keeping it practical with the plain shirt and jacket, chic with the skirt and earrings, and quirky with the leggings and the boots.

Outfit 3-Casual. On normal days, when it’s plain old gray and I’m just feeling a bit down, I tend to go casual. My ideal of casual consists of a hand-me-down shearling jacket from my cousin, a plaid button-down, a pair of skinny leg jeans, and a pair of ballet flats. This is the typical “model off duty” look.

Outfit 4-Gossip Girl Chic

I admit it. I worship Blair Waldorf’s wardrobe (minus the lingerie, which I don’t envy quite as much as her collection of headbands and dresses). So, I try to bring a little Gossip Girl chic into my wardrobe with preppy pieces.

Conclusion: Above are just four examples of what I wear. Overall, I would say that I really like the “model off-duty” look (shearling jacket and slouchy sweater), I like pops of color (like my yellow pea-coat and my rain boots), I love girly touches (earrings and skirts), I love mixing things up, I love trying out trends (and returning the trends that don’t work for me), and I love being me.

Isn’t that a happy way to end a night? It’s 10:30 pm sharp. I’m going to publish this post now.

Leave a Reply

