A documentation of fashion discoveries, inspiration, and trends.

Just today, in that awful gap between my 1:30 French class and my 6:30 night lab, I spent my time in my little Environmental Health Class watching a film: Erin Brockovich. Julia Roberts has never ceased to wax her magic upon me like a spell. Who can forget her gorgeous smile in “Notting Hill” or her sassy personality in “Pretty Woman”? No one.  And in Erin Brockovich she certainly brings us the best of Julia Roberts yet again.

Plot Summary on Wikipedia

Before delving deep into Erin Brockovich’s wardrobe in this movie, I am going to make a statement. As much as I love incorporating other people’s wardrobes into my own, bodices and very deep v-necks probably would be deemed unsuitable by any onlooker for a college campus (unless the impression that you will give people is truly what you are aiming for). Nevertheless, I will give an impartial analysis of Erin Brockovich’s wardrobe with a few side comments on my own and do my best to think about perhaps “conservative”-izing her wardrobe by a few notches.

Shall we began?

One key quote to understanding Erin Brockovich’s clothing style and attitude behind that clothes:

Ed Masry: In a law firm you may want to re-think your wardrobe a little.
Erin Brockovich: Well Ed, I think I look nice. And as long as I have one ass instead of two I’ll wear what I like if that’s all right with you? You might want to re-think those ties.

Motorcycle Vests:

Well I guess Julia Roberts has her own take on motorcycle vests now doesn’t she? Exposing and alluring vests are seen in this movie. Remember back in Fall 2009 when “leather” was the thing to have? Well I guess it kind of still is. Remember leather never goes out of style…just like denim. Notice how Julia Roberts does not wear the typical brown or black leather…but instead…red and white leather! Interesting isn’t it?

Outfit 1-Stand out in the Crowd. What better way to make a statement than with your own take on “leather” and “bomber”. Leather vests, jackets, shoes, or even skirts can give you a similar look to Erin Brockovich’s.

Alternatives-

Country-Style Bodices:


From the cover of the movie to her picnic scene, Julia Roberts embraces bodices in this movie. True, maybe lace-ups are, like wearing motorcycle vests with nothing under, over-exposing. Yes, maybe it is. But bodices have interesting historic elements tied into them as well as a certain degree of charm. How can we incorporate this into our wardrobes? Here’s some inspiration.

Outfit 1-Sneaking it under your blazer?

Alternatives:

Hope this is slightly inspirational! I’m just trying to get through my second midterms week. Things really aren’t that beautiful.

Leave a Reply

