A documentation of fashion discoveries, inspiration, and trends.

Molly Ringwald, who the new generation probably knows by her role as a mom in “The Secret Life of the American Teenager”, was an absolutely perfect and gorgeous actress back in the eighties. (Yet another reason I wish that I were born back in the 1980s). Famous for “The Breakfast Club”, “Sixteen Candles,” “Pretty in Pink”, and a variety of other things.

I know that I’ll most likely doing more than one post about Molly Ringwald since her outfits in all of these different roles have been diverse beyond imagination. “Pretty in Pink” is an excellent starting point that showcases some old-fashioned and hardcore eighties looks. Here’s the trailer:

Mixing Florals into an Outfit the Old-fashioned way:

Molly Ringwald loves mixing florals into her outfit! Just look at her in this above photo. A lovely floral blouse, a nice floral kerchief, and a hat with a floral scarf tied around. Remember that fashion rule to not wear floral in more than one main piece on your outfit? She’s breaking it! That’s what makes the eighties even more lovable. How nostalgic I must sound right now. A raving college girl moaning about her fate to be chained to the 21st century. Below are two ideas on how to incorporate the “over-floralization” of an outfit that Molly Ringwald has above.

Outfit 1-Molly Ringwald Imitation

Outfit 2-Modern Flower Child

“Pretty in Pink” Prom Dress

And, of course, Molly Ringwald’s “finale dress”, her gorgeously cut pink dress with white polka-dots. How gorgeous she looked, standing in the hallway outside of the dance. And when she ran out after Blane in the end. Sigh…just pulls on my heartstrings.

Outfit 1-Molly Ringwald Imitation

 

Outfit 2-Pretty in Pink Indeed

Bon nuit, fashionistas!

Comments on: "Outfits Inspired by Molly Ringwald in “Pretty in Pink”" (2)

  1. Gorgeous!

  2. Hey! I just finished watching Pretty in Pink on the Style network, and I started thinking, “I wonder if anyone designed our found a modern version of Andie’s ‘finale dress’ on Pretty In Pink”. Some people hate dress, but I love it. So much, I wanted to blog about it. I would love to see someone do a modern take on it, then blog about it, so I started Googlin’, then ran across your blog post. I LOVE this post. Andie’s style in that movie was so cute, and I’m glad you showcased then so well! I love the pieces you featured to bring the style up to date. Anyway, I justed to say that. Happy bloggin’…

Leave a Reply

